Cider

I picked up a load of windfall apples at work today.  I was thinking about making jelly, but decided on cider.  About 20 lb of apples will produce a gallon of juice.  I don’t have a cider press, so I used a juicer to extract the juice and strained the pulp.

It’s really simple, just extract juice and put in a demijohn as I’m hoping the wild yeast will do the fermentation for me (I’ll know because brown foam will come out the top of the demijohn), but if not I’ll add yeast in a couple of days time.

Update: The wild yeast got going and I left the cider for 3 weeks until I fermentation had abated, and I had a cloudy cider.  I then racked the cider bringing through a little yeast and topped the demijohn up to a gallon with a sugar syrup of 200g sugar and warm water with some extra cold water to fill it to the neck.  I started with a juice with an OG of 1.038, and adding the sugar should bring it up to 1.055 giving me a cider that is about 6.5%.  I’ll now leave this until fermentation is finished and bottle it!

Leave a Reply

